Tom Butt

E-Mail Forum – 2015  
  < RETURN  
  Ranger Betty Soskin, 93, on the Rosie the Riveter National Park, California
May 8, 2015

Ranger Betty Soskin, 93, on the Rosie the Riveter national park, California
The oldest national park ranger in the US tells us why she’s proud of the second world war home front park in Richmond, just across the bay from San Francisco
Visitor Center at Rosie the Riveter national historic Park, Richmond, California.
Coming up Rosie … the visitor Centre at Rosie the Riveter national historic park, Richmond, California. Photograph: Alamy
Interview by Will Coldwell
Friday 8 May 2015 08.30 EDT Last modified on Friday 8 May 2015 09.12 EDT
I settled in the greater Bay Area as a six-year-old in 1927. When I graduated from high school in 1938, my two opportunities for employment were working in agriculture or being a domestic servant. At that time, labour unions weren’t racially integrated and, during the war, I worked as a clerk for the segregated boilermakers’ union.
Ranger Betty Soskin with a photo of herself has a young woman.
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Ranger Betty Soskin with a photo of herself as a young woman. Photograph: Alamy
Rosie the Riveter national park in Richmond, over the bay from San Francisco, tells the story of America’s home front in the second world war. It takes in scattered sites such as the Kaiser Shipyards and the Ford assembly plant and preserves the legacy not only of the women who entered non-traditional labour for the first time, but of all those who served.
The park is creating a common history. Richmond was a town of 23,000 people in 1942 and a city of 130,000 by the war’s end, so the city is a collection of strangers looking for an identity. The park is helping to do that.