RETURN
  More Responses to E-FORUM on Marijuana in Richmond
July 26, 2010

This is everything to date, both pro and con:

• Dr. Ritterman
    Council Member - Richmond

Cc:      Mayor and members of the Council

Dr. Ritterman:

Thanks for the reference to pubmed.  I have an open mind to new information and am always interested in new sources of information.  I hope you are as well.

As to my bias and falsehoods, I’ll stand by everything I said.  I have thirty years experience living with two drug addicted stepchildren, plus thirteen years and thousands of hours working with and studying under the best in the business.

Your assertion that marijuana is not addictive, and that there are no withdrawal symptoms, is frankly shocking, particularly coming from a Doctor.  There are endless referrals to show you are wrong, but to quote Dr. Nora Volkow, Director of the National Institute of Drug Abuse: “…There is no question marijuana can be addictive.  The argument is over.  The important thing right now is to understand the vulnerability of young, developing brains due to the increased concentrations of cannabis.”

According to the California Society for Addictive Medicine:

1)      “The normal brain relies on the same cannabinoid chemistry found in marijuana to regulate much of the body’s physiology.  Marijuana mimics our brain’s natural molecules and frequent use significantly disrupts the brain’s delicate chemical balance.

• Marijuana is addicting to approximately 9% of people who begin smoking it at 18 years or older.  Withdrawal symptoms are subtle (irritability, anxiety, sleep disturbance), but are real and do contribute to relapse….

• Because the brains of adolescents are still undergoing significant structural development, onset of marijuana smoking earlier than 18 results in increasingly higher rates of addiction (up to 17% within 2 years) and disruption to an individual’s life.  The younger the use, the greater the risk.”