-
Tom Butt for Richmond City Council The Tom Butt E-Forum About Tom Butt Platform Endorsements of Richmond Councilmember Tom Butt Accomplishments Contribute to Tom Butt for Richmond City Council Contact Tom Butt Tom Butt Archives
-
  E-Mail Forum
  RETURN
  Fay Jones, The Passing of an Architectural Legend
September 6, 2004

Fay_Jones.pdf

When I studied architecture at the University of Arkansas in the mid-1960s, the chairman of the Architecture Department (not yet elevated to the status of a “school”) was a quiet man named Euine Fay Jones. He went by “Fay.”

He taught design studios and architectural history and carried on a modest practice on the side where he designed homes, mainly around northwest Arkansas. In that day and place, houses designed by architects were rare and considered somewhat of an indulgence. Most of his clients had a little money but would certainly not be considered wealthy by today’s standards. Some would, however, still be recognized today – like Orville Faubus and Sam Walton.

Jones’ creations were masterpieces of native stone, brick glass, water, light and wood, with spaces often more worthy of cathedrals than homes. Although by today’s standards, Jones’ homes would be considered highly articulated and perhaps “decorative, “every detail had a functional purpose, Jones told us. Nothing was purely aesthetic. We made a lot of field trips, visiting a number of Jones’ designs, both under construction and completed. One my most memorable experiences was a class trip to Chicago where Jones led tours of several of the Wright-designed buildings in Oak Park where Wright lived and practiced for many years.